Swing Into Spring

Swing into Spring  is an open, rotating partners, doubles tournament for men and women 50 and up.


Swing Into Spring 2018

Sponsored by Larry Ott Realty.

In memory of Ron Epply.

Video (new YouTube window)

April 6-7, 2018.

SIS 2018 Application (pdf)

Location: R. H. Johnson Recreation Center, 19803 R. H. Johnson Blvd, Sun City West, AZ 85375
Dates: April 6-7, 2018; Friday and Saturday
Entry Fee: $45.00. Entry fee must accompany entry form. Make check payable to: SCW Racquetball Club. Mail entry form and check to Jan Warren, 12303 Prospect Court, Sun City West, AZ 85375 to arrive NLT March 26, 2018. No refund for cancellations after March 26, 2018.
Facilities: Two regulation courts, showers and lockers available. Please bring your own soap, towel and lock.
Entry Deadline: March 26, 2018. Earlier applications will receive priority.
Starting Time: Courts open at 7:00 AM for warm up. Registration opens at 7:30 AM, Friday, April 6, 2018. First round play starts promptly at 8:00 AM on Friday and as shown on the tournament schedule for Saturday. AM players report no later than 7:30 AM; afternoon players no later than 10:30 AM.
Eligibility: Only amateurs may participate. Minimum age 50 or Sun City West resident and Racquetball/Handball/Whisperball Club member. All players must be able to compete BOTH days.
Format: Maximum 32 participants. Players for both doubles and singles ranked by age/ability. Current USRA rules apply. Each match will be one game to 15.
Doubles: Rotating partners, individual scores. One match with each partner. Each of the flights will be grouped by age when possible.
If enough female players sign up, we may have a separate bracket for women.
Prizes will be given for the first three places in each flight.
Singles: We will again be offering two single elimination singles brackets of eight players to be played after regular doubles play on Friday and Saturday afternoon, one complete bracket each day. The brackets will be grouped by age. The first sixteen entries to express an interest will be entered. You must be entered in doubles to play in the singles brackets. No additional fee is required and prizes will be given for the first two places in each bracket.
Eye guard: Eye guards are mandatory.
Hospitality: Fruit, snacks and beverages served throughout the tournament. Lunch each day, spouses welcome. Banquet 5:30 PM Saturday night at the Johnson Recreation Center upper courtyard; directions available at the tournament.
Accommodations: Best to check online for local accommodations.
Director: Gary Zeman at 906-221-1952 for information. For individual starting times call or text Jan at 623-810-5511 or email jalarae@gmail.com after 1 PM, April 1. Rules and schedules will be posted all around the court area and on the Club website at http://racquetball.scwclubs.com/



Swing Into Spring 2017

SIS 2017 was sponsored by Larry Ott Realty.



  Flight A Flight B Flight C Flight D Friday Singles Saturday Singles
First  John Walsh Ed Pardo Jerry Noonan Bill Ranziger Wayne Peterson Tom Jervinsky
Second  Bruce Pope Don Gunderson Bob Cox  Bob Warren Francis Florey John Walsh
Third  David Huerta Ron Waldron Marylou Furaus  Toby DiCesare    


2017 A Flight















2017 B Flight















2017 C Flight















2017 D Flight
























Swing Into Spring 2016

SIS 2016 was sponsored by Larry Ott Realty.

SIS 2016 was in memory of Mike “Brownie” Brown and Walter Urbach



  Flight A Flight B Flight C Flight D Singles 1 Singles 2
First  John Walsh Don Gunderson Bob Cox Bill Ranziger Jeff Tipton David Black
Second  Bruce Pope Ed Pardo Mike Burie  Ken Moore Jerry Noonan John Walsh
Third  Richard Paul Tom Jervinsky Richard Juhas  Paul Banales    
Fourth  David Huerta Jerry Noonan Jeff Stone Camilo Perez    



All singles players were in one of the doubles flights

Doubles Flight A









Doubles Flight B









Doubles Flight C









Doubles Flight D








































Swing Into Spring 2015

SIS 2015 was sponsored by Larry Ott Realty.



  50-60 61-70 70-75 78+
First Bruce Pope Ed Pardo Jerry Noonan Bob Warren
Second Richard Paul Don Gunderson Bob Cox Ken Moore
Third Kevin Kenkel Ray Bierner Wayne Peterson Paul Banales
Fourth Abe Karimi Dave Roberts Mary Lou Furaus Camilo Perez


SIS2015_5060 50-60 Winners
(left to right)
Richard, Bruce, Abe, Kevin
 SIS2015_6170 61-70 Winners
(left to right)
Don, Dave, Ray, Ed
 SIS2015_7075 70-75 Winners
(left to right)
Bob, Mary Lou, Wayne, Jerry
 SIS2015_78P 78+ Winners
(left to right)
Camilo, Paul, Bob, Ken



Swing Into Spring 2014


Young Doubles Winners

Young Doubles Winners

Less Young Doubles Winners

Less Young Doubles Winners

First Kevin Kenkel
Second David Huerta
Third Ed Pardo
Fourth Don Gunderson
First Wayne Peterson
Second Roger Timian
Third Mary Lou Furaus
Fourth Bob Warren



Swing Into Spring 2013


2013 Pictures 1
2013 Pictures 2
2013 Pictures 3



55-67 Doubles First Kevin Kenkel
Second Bruce Cohen
Third Luis Guerrero
Fourth Mike Brown
68+ Doubles First Wayne Peterson
Second Paul Banales
Third Ron Adams
Fourth Bob Cox

2013 Semis and Finals Scores (pdf) 



Swing Into Spring 2012

2012 Participant Slideshow


55-66 Doubles First Ed Pardo
Second Mike Brown
Third Jeff Tipton
Fourth Dave Roberts
67+ Doubles First Ron Adams
Second Wayne Peterson
Third Mary Lou Furaus
Fourth Maurice Bennett




2012 Participant Slideshow